vSphere 4 Web Access Now Disabled

Posted: June 18, 2009 in Tips and Tricks, VMware

Last night I decided to browse to my vSphere server and download the latest Virtual Infrastructure client, I did this and everything went well – Too easy.

After installing this and having a play with vcenter 4, I decided to try web access so I browsed back to the default page as shown below.

WebAccess

I clicked on the “Log into Web Access” button and got the following error ” 503 service unavailable”

503

I then logged into my vSphere host and run the following command

chkconfig –list |grep “vmware-web” (double dash before list, not sure why but the font doesnt show this clearly)

Heres what I found

off

It now looks like Web Access is no longer automatically enabled and you have to perform the following command to make to start at boot.

chkconfig –level 345 vmware-webAccess on

and if you just want to start it the once you can run

/etc/init.d/vmware-webAccess start or service vmware-webAccess start

Hope this helps anyone out there searching.

Comments
  1. Angel says:

    Muchas gracias me has salvado…

    Thank you.

    😉

  2. Pat says:

    Hi, thanks a lot, but you forgot a minus it must read: –list (..)

    chkconfig –-list |grep “vmware-web”

    Cheers,

    Pat

    • Brian Norris says:

      Thanks Pat, I had a look and updated the post, the syntax was correct but for some reason the double dashes with the font used shows as a single. Thanks for pointing this out.

Leave a Reply

