VMware Site Recovery Manager with CLARIION Gotcha

Posted: September 29, 2010 in Site Recovery Manager, Tips and Tricks

Im working on a nice little project at the moment which involves a couple of CX120’s with vSphere  4.1 and VMware Site Recovery Manager 4.1

After installing Site Recovery Manager,  the CLARIION storage replication adapter and EMC solutions enabler I went on to configure the storage arrays in SRM and received the following error

” Error occurred XML Document Empty”

After a bit of searching in the forums I found someone had the same error which was a result of the person not having installed the solutions enabler. This was enough to point me in the right direction and knowing I definitely had it installed, I figured it must be a version issue…. after uninstalling the x64 bit version and installing the x86 package I was up and running.

Initially I thought this might have been a compatibility issue so I went and checked out the documentation to make sure all my ducks were lined up. If you’re implementing a CLARIION with SRM make sure you check out the latest SRA release notes as it lists the prerequisites for a supported configuration.

You might be thinking that the title of the post is a bit misleading as it’s not really a CLARIION issue as such, but in some ways it is because the CELERRA SRA no longer requires the solutions enabler to be installed.

The image below I extracted from the latest CLARIION SRA release notes at the time of this post.

Comments
  1. Joe Kelly says:

    Glad to see you’re back in the saddle again Brian. Was wondering what happen to you.

  2. Mike Laskowski says:

    THX!! this resolved my problem. Also as a FYI same goes for Symmetrix DMX

Leave a Reply

