NetWorker 7.6 SP2 First Impressions – (Licensing)

Posted: July 1, 2011 in EMC Networker

NetWorker 7.6 SP2 with support for VMware VADP has finally become GA (Generally Available) and as with any new build, the first thing I do is download the documentation to see whats new or changed.

After downloading all available docs from Powerlink, I went and opened the document titled “Licensing Guide” which you would think should cover VADP licensing right ? ….. Wrong!.

Next I went and looked at “EMC NetWorker VMware Integration Guide“, I was hopeful this would contain the information I was after, but after reading the section “Licensing NetWorker support for VMware” I felt very much like I did when I saw the movie Mulholland Drive for the first time. 

However, today I was glad to receive an email from a colleague who found the following post on the NetWorker Community site by Eric Carter at EMC helping to clear up some of the misleading/confusing statements regarding licensing for VADP in 7.6 SP2 documentation.

Hopefully it wont be too long till we see updated documentation on Powerlink. (I’m also hoping the VADP licensing information gets added to the licensing guide document)

(click on the image below to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

