vSphere 5.0 Licensing Causes Frenzy

Posted: July 15, 2011 in VMware, vSphere 5

This week I’ve been in Sydney Australia doing EMC Recoverpoint training and its seems there have been two big things happen while I’ve been here.

Firstly vSphere 5.0 has been released, I opened my email Monday morning to find a tone of marketing emails from VMware about the launch.

Secondly, it seems Lady GaGa is in Sydney at the same time I am.

I was sitting in my hotel room the other night watching some TV when I heard screaming and shouting, it sounded like a large group of people (mob), at the time I figured it must have been Lady GaGa leaving her hotel room causing mass fan hysteria.

Well today after a mate txt me asking about VMware’s new licensing scheme, I rushed back to the hotel to download the licensing guide and to be honest im now not sure the screaming was GaGa fans, It may well have been VMware customers walking down the street with pitch forks and machete’s protesting the new licensing scheme.

I have had a really quick read over the document and ill be honest, my first impressions I admit were quite cynical, but to be fair im going to read over the document properly and try to get my head around it.

The reason I am cynical about the change initially is because over the last couple of years I have seen a common trend where customers (and myself included) have replaced ESX host hardware with the same number of physical CPU sockets, but doubled or tripled the amount of memory per host. This was something which came about when the Nehalem CPU was released, the result was more logical cores and more VM’s you could run per core.

 

In the meantime if your interested in seeing a couple of good examples of how the changes might not be as bad as everyone’s saying it is, check out this post by Gabe of Gabes’s Virtual World.

Comments
  1. Steve L says:

    Perhaps GaGa’s performance in a wheelchair was symbolic on her views with vSphere 5 licensing?

Leave a comment